DerelictStudios Forums
Pranadevil

Struggle Of Addiction

No, this isn't about drugs, this is about World of Warcraft.

I've been playing World of Warcraft since November 2, 2005. I had a level 60 Night Elf Warrior on the Durotan server. I belonged to a large end game raiding guild that was currently raiding Naxxramas, which is the most difficult instance currently ingame. I had about 120 days played on my account. That's equal to 2,880 hours in total. While granted I left the game running many times while I wasn't even playing, that's still a very large number.

Today, after 411 days playing this game on a near daily basis, I cancelled my account. It wasn't an easy thing to do cancelling my account, but I did it, and I have no intention of ever reactivating it. Blizzard is evil, and so are their games. It's just a fact.

While World of Warcraft is a quality game, I don't think the game itself is entirely the addiction. I continued playing the game mainly because of the people I know in the game, not so much because the game itself is just godly, because it's not. After a while you get to know the people in your guild very well (presuming you're in one), and that's what I think most people have difficulty leaving behind, although that may not necessarily be the case for everyone, I think that's why most people continue playing month after month.

Either way, take my advice...

NEVER BUY WORLD OF WARCRAFT!

Apparently WoW is still affecting your brain.  You're instictivly ignoring 'get laid.' :P

Well, I only just cancelled my account a couple of hours ago. I wouldn't be surprised if my brain ignores a lot for the next week or so. But I'll give you a call when I start thinking clearly, okay? ;)

the problem isnt the product its the user, like opiates :P