DerelictStudios Forums: [mapping] How To View The Official C&c3 Maps - DerelictStudios Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[mapping] How To View The Official C&c3 Maps

#1 User is offline   Smurf Bizkit 

  • 1st General
  • Group: Volcano Officer
  • Posts: 9,044
  • Joined: 04-April 03
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 22 April 2007 - 02:41 AM

How to view the official C&C3 Maps in the World Builder

This is for those of you who wish to open the official C&C3 maps, which is particularly useful given the specific lighting and postfx settings for the different zone types.
    Step 1: Grab a C&C3 .big file opener, you can get it at Project Perfect Mod

    Step 2: Open the mpmaps.big typically found in C:Program Files/Electronic Arts/C&C3/MP/1.0/

    Step 3: Extract the files inside.

    Step 4: Place those maps in C:Users/<your_user_name>/AppData/Roaming/C&C3/Maps/ (Note! You may need to change your settings to view hidden files, since the AppData folder is hidden)

    Note: This may alternatively be in the C:Documents and Settings/<your_user_name>/Application Data/C&C3/Maps/ depending on your version of Windows.

    Step 5: Load the World Builder and click open, they'll be seen in the list of options shown. You can also play any maps placed in that folder in C&C3.

0

#2 User is offline   Mighty BOB! 

  • Sergeant Major
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: 03-March 07
  • Location:California, USA

Posted 22 April 2007 - 06:48 PM

If you have the Kane Edition there are also the bonus maps located in

C:Program Files\Electronic Arts\C&C3\Kane\1.0\KaneMaps.big

This post has been edited by Mighty BOB!: 23 April 2007 - 11:22 PM

0

#3 User is offline   Smurf Bizkit 

  • 1st General
  • Group: Volcano Officer
  • Posts: 9,044
  • Joined: 04-April 03
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 23 April 2007 - 09:20 PM

good call, thx smile.gif
0

#4 User is offline   BlckWyerve 

  • Purportedly Magic Jew
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 5,281
  • Joined: 10-March 04

Posted 23 April 2007 - 09:31 PM

Also works with the SP maps:

C:Program Files/Electronic Arts/Command & Conquer 3/SP/1.0/SPMaps.big

Note the same limitations apply to custom SP maps; you can view but not play.
0

#5 User is offline   sominus 

  • Private
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 07-May 07

Posted 07 May 2007 - 11:35 PM

You can also add skirmish players to the players' list and play the SP maps on MP (I guess you can play in skirmish as well, didn't try). Just asign the "bad guy" buildings/units to Player_2 and your starting base/units to Player_1 then add the Player_X_start waypoint where they are supossed to be, and it will be like playing a mission from the campaign.
The bad side: Scripts won't work unless you tweak them to work with skirmish Player_X.

It might sound as a lot of work so, what's the point on doing this?
Well, you can net-play in coop with a friend a map from the campaign in "Brutal" difficulty wich I found interesting.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users