DerelictStudios Forums: Blitz Devellopments - DerelictStudios Forums

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Blitz Devellopments Yes we are still working on it.

#1 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 16 April 2010 - 12:57 PM

Hello all blitz fans,

You have not heard from us in a while. That is because behind the scenes we are still busy, mainly with planning and deciding the next step for the team with regards to blitzkrieg modification. This can be a long process and it might be a while before we post any news regarding that.

Ofcourse our loyal marshal Neo is still busy making maps, and in the future we will release some kind of patch, bringing blitz2 for zh up to the latest devellopments, including new singleplayer missions.


Greetings, DirtyHarry

This post has been edited by DirtyHarry: 16 April 2010 - 04:49 PM

0

#2 User is offline   Neo 

  • Generalissimo of the Soviet Forces
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 834
  • Joined: 22-January 05
  • Location:Canada
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 17 April 2010 - 03:24 PM

DH is right....were still busy but not dead...Lots of new stuff should be ready soon for a release. For the last months Korona "Von Braun" , Dirty "The Great" Harry, Comrade Raptorkov, myself we test these modifications and the result seems to be a step forward.

About the maps im finishing a mission where Germans have to defend on 2 separated fronts fistly against the Soviets and later to defend the Rhine aginst the Allies. This mission is a nigthmare to make because all the options the player have (Invade the Soviet Union or not, defeat the SU or not before the Allies are landing, etc.). Stay tuned...

0

#3 User is offline   Comrade Raptorkov 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 1,398
  • Joined: 09-March 06
  • Location:Kunsan AB ROK

Posted 28 April 2010 - 10:52 AM

In the meantime, I've been busy myself. Hope you guys don't mind,



I don't have permission to link them to the blitz page, but I can link them to the Blitz II Team? I sent phoib and korona a pm to see if one of them will give me such a permission.
0

#4 User is offline   Shadowmetroid 

  • Private
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 15-September 08
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 28 April 2010 - 01:16 PM

Good to see you haven't abandoned it like many have believed. I am eagerly looking forward to an update to one of the best mods out there!!
0

#5 User is offline   Korona 

  • Von Braun
  • Group: Volcano Lord
  • Posts: 6,482
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location:England
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 03 May 2010 - 04:35 AM

Yeah we should def get these up on the main site.
0

#6 User is offline   Comrade Raptorkov 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 1,398
  • Joined: 09-March 06
  • Location:Kunsan AB ROK

Posted 03 May 2010 - 07:00 AM

I see what it is, the blitz 2 page doesn't have an add-ons page like other mods. Cold War crisis has a add-on tab filled with maps.
0

#7 User is offline   Acevetren 

  • 2nd Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Soldier
  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: 03-February 09
  • Location:Canada

Posted 04 May 2010 - 03:13 AM

Keep up the good work
0

#8 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 11 July 2010 - 01:05 AM

Final blitz patch is upcomming. Will be here within the next few weeks.

**spolier**

Will contain additional SP content, new challenge maps and more coop. Also a few excellent new mp maps!

But you didn't hear that from me.
Honestly, it was a little bird...

Called.. Neo!


Greetings from the high command.
0

#9 User is offline   Comrade Raptorkov 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 1,398
  • Joined: 09-March 06
  • Location:Kunsan AB ROK

Posted 14 July 2010 - 05:05 PM

I think we should make another set of tutorial videos which focuses on the operational level of warfare rather than the tactical, since blitz sits on the operational level imho.

These tutorials will teach people how to actually play the game rather than just how to win a couple battles.
Here is a list of subjects that we should focus on for each video
  • Cash generation
  • Unit production
  • combined arms
  • Exploitation warfare
  • Defensive positioning
  • overall operations


Cash generation will explain 2 things, the gaining of income to use for solid forces on the ground as well as gains in experience to further your science tree.

Unit production will show players how to build a solid force and teach players how to use certain 'unit roles' to overcome situations. Like why they should use a mix of 'weaker' tanks with 'stronger' ones to be prepared for what ever then enemy might have.

Combined arms will teach players to use everything in their arsenal to overcome adversity, more specifically, how to use a combination of infantry, tanks, trucks, artillery and aircraft.

Exploitation warfare, this is the big one, perhaps the biggest part of blitz. There is probably a more accurate word, but for now I think exploitation works fine. This will teach players to focus on 'fighting from the back', rather than fighting to the front as most players approach it. what I mean is, rather than frontal full on assaults involving huge forces, we will teach players how to kill the enemy in his own territory, by taking back towns with partisans or paratroops, you may be able to find a town that's not defended deep behind his defensive line, and you can quickly snatch it up. Denying your enemy of cash while stuffing your pocket. Even if only for a moment, you will have completely stolen something of your enemies, a huge prize in blitz. It will also teach players the importance of disabling enemy production and even units.

Defensive positioning will teach players proper use of defense structures and at guns, as well as using actual units to create and active defense system.

Overall operations will teach the biggest parts of blitz, timing and positioning of forces, force sizes, how to use tech advancement, deception and most importantly basic strategies.

Well those are my ideas for pro tutorials. I feel the learning curve is the biggest problem with blitz, if we can educate players on how to properly play they will have a better experience and continue to play the game. Anyone have anything they would like to add?
0

#10 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 15 July 2010 - 07:08 PM

Yes.

A lot is already covered in the videos of korona and me.

Blitz isn't RUSE, its a mod for an old game, its not usefull to make these videos.

Your tactic of exploitation warfare doesn't work as a primary tactic.

Good idea's overal, but i doubt we will put them into practice. However if you can, please do.

Greetings, Dirty Harry
0

#11 User is offline   **Schindler's List** 

  • Private
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 16-July 10

Posted 16 July 2010 - 09:34 PM

Hi. First off i'd like to thank everyone for making this great mod. I have been playing it for some time now but i just have never posted anything on here. Now, I have a question. I have been making some muliplayer skirmish maps for this game and i can get the ai to work and everything and i know how to set the money system with the buildings and everything. But i was hoping to go a bit further and i've been try'n to mess around with the scripts lately and spawn reinforcement teams for the ai players without much luck. Everytime i put the scripts in the players folder the team will spawn but the ai wont build. i was just hoping if anyone could help point me to a tutorial on this or maybe show me how a script like this would work or anything....any help is appriciated...

Also dont help my computer crashed a while back so i lost all my old maps mad.gif so now i've been just starting to make them again....

Thanks again for any help....and again thanks for the great mod everyone:)
0

#12 User is offline   Comrade Raptorkov 

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 1,398
  • Joined: 09-March 06
  • Location:Kunsan AB ROK

Posted 16 July 2010 - 10:13 PM

In skirmish games you can't spawn stuff to a player, but you can spawn to neutral and transfer control to a player, you'd just have to make sure the ai is in the same slot in the game setup everytime. it goes like this Player_0 this is the host, Player_1 this is slot 2 in game setup and so on until Player_7 for slot 8.it will give you the question marks but just ignore them. Harry made a coop map thats similar to the art of defense maps for reg zh, only the ai defends.
0

#13 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 17 July 2010 - 03:03 PM

Using scripts in mp maps disables the standard ai.

You can build your own ai, as i did on the coop maps.

Forget player_0 to 7, it's only for transfers of units that are (preplaced) on the map. Basically player 0 is on the top in the gamehosting lobby list, player 7 is the 8th one all the way down. Irrelevant of the map positions you choose. When using those, make sure that your players come in the game in the correct order, and pick the right map positions. If it matters.



For Ai in mp u can use the standard Russia, germany, allies.

Choose what side u want your AI to be on. Then put all the scripting for it under that side. In game, make sure to include the side u choose as an AI. It will only spawn a CC, nothing else. You can locate it off-map.

If you want to transfer to the ai, just make a new fake player, called transferai or whatever, name all the units u want to that team, then write a script to transfer from player transferai to plrRussia or whatever. You can also just place everything using scripts.

For spawning stuff to the ai u need to make teams under your chosen side. Like for plyRussia u make team tank1 with a t-34 1 1 in it. Then write a script to spawn it and make it do stuff.

Like for just placement, you write: spawn unit tank1 on team plyRussia on spot X. Of course u need to make a waypoint named X on the map first.
For behaviour you do like: spawn unit tank1 on team plyrRussia on spot X. Have tank1 move along waypoint pathway.

You can spawn multiple instances of a team but you will have to repeat the command u give them each time.

You can spawn teams off-map, so it appears they ride in. Just make sure they are within SkirmishWorld.


Maybe you already know all of this.


I made a random generator to make random teams continually spawn from randomly chosen different directions with different pathways, at random times.

If you need an example map, holler and i send one over, via msn.

Don't listen to raptor wink.gif

This post has been edited by DirtyHarry: 17 July 2010 - 03:07 PM

0

#14 User is offline   **Schindler's List** 

  • Private
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 16-July 10

Posted 17 July 2010 - 08:10 PM

just wanted to say thanks Raptor & DirtyHarry for both of you trying to help me out....Also D.Harry i sent you a message about the example map you were talking about if it went through ok...thanks.... tongue.gif
0

#15 User is offline   **Schindler's List** 

  • Private
  • Group: Volcano Citizen
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 16-July 10

Posted 18 July 2010 - 06:13 AM

Sorry to be kinda noob. and a bother for that matter now..lol..but for what you said about the ai building only a CC is there anyway to make a team spawn and move into the map while still having the ai build??? and for some of these if ive wrote a scrit like this....

Under plyerrussia added the new team
Edit teams-add new team
team-Russian reinforcements
owner plyrrussia
Min5 Max5 unit type-kv1
checked team members are ai recruitable

Still in edit teams template under reinforcement part of it
listed my waypoint for the team to start waypoint 25

Scripts-

Under plyr russia folder
Made new folder

First script-Timer -(script conditions) if true-(actions if true) set timer russian reinforcements to expire in 160 seconds. run subroutine create

second script-create--(script conditions) if true and timer russian reinforcements expire. -(actions if true) spawn an instance of team russian reinforcements at waypoint 25. run subroutine move.

Third script-Move--(script conditions) if true and team russian reinforcements has been created. -(actions if true) move team russian reinforcements to waypoint 26. run subroutine Timer.

Now ive been trying to just even spawn the team like that and have it move in off screen but everytime i do the ai wont build cause i put it under there folder....and i still dont see the team...now i've tried to do named units under or the team thing under the plyercivilian folder and had them come in and the ai builds but then it wont let me transfer them.....????? also if i try to do it under neutral in edit teams and im done setting the stuff i see nothing when i hit ok...if you can see its a mess....

like i said i can do good on making the maps but i just recently started working on scripting. i can make briefing's and do fun stuff like rank players up quicker and turn the entire map radar on but this is my first of this kind...so thats why im kinda lost. so if you could send me or if you would a examle map or a good detailed tutorial id greatly appreciate it. Thanks everyone and great mod...keep up the good work!!!!

PS...is there any chance in the future that skins may be added to any of the tank models????just asking...

This post has been edited by **Schindler's List**: 18 July 2010 - 06:17 AM

0

#16 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 19 July 2010 - 01:12 PM

You are a noob.

Having scripts in MP or SP means the AI won't build. (except for civvie scripts ofcourse).
0

#17 User is offline   Neo 

  • Generalissimo of the Soviet Forces
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 834
  • Joined: 22-January 05
  • Location:Canada
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 20 January 2011 - 08:39 PM

Hi all....just to let you know that the next patch still a work in progress....During this time we still working on the fine tuning of this mod (Korona's working on units with less polygons...Also there will be new mission maps,etc). And like Korona once said: " If you want works completed faster just send us money" <_<
0

#18 User is offline   -UNI- 

  • Sergeant Major
  • Group: Volcano Soldier
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 14-March 09
  • Location:North Finland

Posted 25 February 2011 - 11:26 PM

How about some new tanks to blitz?

i made these tanks. could be used in campaing becase some of these tanks where in ww2 :)

Jagdtiger
http://www.moddb.com...ages/jagdtiger2
http://www.moddb.com...tiger1#imagebox
http://www.moddb.com...dtiger#imagebox

JS-4 (endwar tank only 200 where made)
http://www.moddb.com.../js-41#imagebox
http://www.moddb.com...s/js-4#imagebox

also i have SU-85 and SU-76 (high poly models) but no pics atm..

netx i would make T-44 and maybe T-43

i could also texture those but.. uvmapping atm is kinda hard because my old good uv mapping program wont work with win7 64bit :(

This post has been edited by -UNI-: 25 February 2011 - 11:27 PM

0

#19 User is offline   DirtyHarry 

  • 1st Lieutenant
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 02-December 07
  • Location:Dutch Country

Posted 17 March 2011 - 03:34 PM

Hi, nice models!

Korona, Neo, can you use them? :).
0

#20 User is offline   Neo 

  • Generalissimo of the Soviet Forces
  • Group: Volcano Knight
  • Posts: 834
  • Joined: 22-January 05
  • Location:Canada
  • Mod Registrations:

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:42 PM

Yeah nice work UNI... DirtyHarry, only Korona Van Braun can answer your question :P

Also, I've been away from the net for the last months but i should get back online in the next 2 week (they finally decided to install high speed cables up to the place i live far away in the mountains).

So for the last few months i've been working on new missions using some new type of maps in wich you can play a whole campaign in a same game. More details to come....
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users